August 30, 2014

A boy and his dog have a howling good time.

Friends that howl together stay together! Chris and Shadow are best friends and know how to talk to each other.

Why Do Dogs Howl? Understanding your dog's behavior can be a daunting task. For example, why do dogs howl?

Researchers admit that howling behavior in dogs is still largely a mystery. But if Fido goes wild at the sound of sirens or other dogs, it's not because his ears hurt. It's his ancestry that's partly to blame.

Your pooch shares his penchant for howling with his distant relation, the wolf. Much like barking or growling, howling is a deeply ingrained behavior that helps wolves communicate with one another.


Loyal dog starves but refuses to leave boy's grave for a fortnight

An incredibly heartbroken and loyal dog spent over two weeks with little to no food or water while he sat in the heat and cold to guard the gravesite of his 18-year-old owner, who was killed in a car wreck at the beginning of this month.

Even though he is mourning, he is helping ease the grief of someone else.

Tommy was adopted by construction worker Bhaskar Shri of Chennai, southern India, five years ago, and the two have been inseparable since. Tommy even accompanied him to his job on construction sites. Sadly, Bhaskar was killed in a car accident on August 2nd, and his inconsolable dog has not left the graveside.

“I first spotted the brown dog sitting on a fresh grave one evening as I happened to walk past in the first week of August, but at the time I didn’t think anything of it,” said Dawn Williams, a Blue Cross of India animal rescue worker. “But on August 13th I was in the area again while on a different rescue mission and saw him again. He was sitting in the same spot in the same position. It looked like he hadn’t moved for weeks.”

Dawn was certain that Tommy could be seen with tears on his fur when she approached him.

“I could see he was in a disturbed condition. He was famished and I’m certain he had tears in his eyes,” she said. “I gave him water and biscuits but he refused to move. Then, with my teammates, I walked around the area and asked locals if they knew the dog. They told me the dog was called Tommy and he was guarding his owner’s grave.”

She tracked down the young man’s mother, Shrimati Sundari, who also works construction. She was overjoyed to see Tommy.

“When Tommy saw her, he jumped on her and was licking her before he rested his face on her feet. It was obvious he knew her,” Dawn explained.

She hadn’t seen the dog after the car accident, and believed he may have gone to find another home.

“She was really happy he was back. She called him a loyal friend and she would keep him as a reminder of her son,” Dawn said. “It was quite sad seeing them walk off together. But I was glad they were reunited. I’m sure Tommy will help Shrimati with her grief, dogs; are amazing in times of emotion.”

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio has nominated Prime Minister Stephen Harper to do the ice bucket challenge.

DiCaprio was in northern Alberta last week visiting the oilsands to do research for an environmental documentary.

The Oscar-nominated star of "The Wolf of Wall Street" posted a video on his Facebook page of him doing the ice bucket challenge with two First Nations chiefs.

"Hello from Lake Athabasca, we're here learning about the Canadian tar sands," the actor wrote in the accompanying post.

"We took a moment to join the #IceBucketChallenge movement in support of the ALS Association. My friends Chief Adam of the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation challenges Dave Collyer president of Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, Chief Courtoreille of the Mikisew Cree First Nation challenges Mark Little of Suncor Canada and The Sierra Club President Michael Brune challenges Shell CEO Ben van Beurden."

Afterward, DiCaprio called out Harper to do the same.

"And me? In addition to a donation from my foundation, I challenge Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper."


Photo courtesy of Brandi Morin

Featuring WBAI NYC Indigenous Voices Radio Talk Show Host and Lakota musician Tiokasin Ghosthorse.

Tiokasin has been a long-time advocate for the rights of Native Americans and also preservation and sharing of indigenous wisdom. In this clip, Ghosthorse explains the anger he feels that Mother Earth is being abused, and how he is concerned about our reckless path of over-consumption and desecration of nature's bounty. The time to shift is now—in the words of Onondaga Chief Oren Lyons—we need a "values change for survival."

"We have to stop with the idea of creating peace on earth and begin with creating peace with Mother Earth. We've tried the first alternative for thousands of years, but look where that has led us, now is the time of the Original Ways, the Native ways, after all ... it is coming this way - that we all must make peace with Mother Earth - there is no more altering the native way."

Tiokasin Ghosthorse is from the Cheyenne River Lakota (Sioux) Nation of South Dakota and the bands of Itazipco/Mnicoujou and Oglala. He is the host of First Voices Indigenous Radio on WBAI NY - Pacifica Radio. Tiokasin has been described as "a spiritual agitator, natural rights organizer, Indigenous thinking process educator and a community activator." One reviewer called him "a cultural resonator in the key of life."

Tiokasin is available for concerts, lectures and other speaking engagements. Please email:

Husky Puppy In Sleepy Trance From Blissful Belly Rub

This is so cute, you cannot resist rubbing that little tummy!

Sometimes on a lazy day, all you need is some relaxation and belly rubs.

That's certainly the case for this little husky pup, who can't help but wiggle her leg with happiness every time she gets her tummy scratched. She's so relaxed, she's practically falling asleep!

Siberian huskies are generally very docile and tend to love everyone, so it's no wonder that this puppy loves affection so much. Dogs tend to shake their legs as an involuntary response to being scratched on their belly or flanks.

And remember, keep your dogs cool and hydrated in the summer heat!