The second National Indigenous Music Awards saw uprising Queensland band The Medics take out three of the top awards at the Darwin ceremony last night.

The band was awarded New Talent of the Year, Song of the Year for the song 'Griffin' and Album of the Year for their album, 'Foundations'.

"It's overwhelming - mixed emotions but I'm glad we got to win all three awards and it's pretty amazing," Jhindu Lawrie of The Medics said.

The band was formed in their high school years, during many wagged classes, according to bass player Charles Thomas, but they credit their upbringings in Cairns and strong leaders with their fast growing success.

"We've just had awesome influences around us - great manager, record label and growing up in Cairns seeing awesome things that have inspired our music," Charles said.

One of the two Aboriginal members of the band, Jhindu said it was an honour to be part of the NIMAs.

"Being an Aboriginal you never forget who you are and where you come from," he said.

"It's about culture and it's just nice having your family and everyone in the crowd. In saying that though, I'd like to see it joined with everything else - joined with the ARIAS, not segregated."

"As a band, we always strive to be something else - not just to be categorised into Aboriginal music. Music is music you know," he said.

"But life's a journey and to see us as a band here today is pretty crazy."

Arnhem Land band, East Journey, also saw great success at the awards, taking home both the NT Film Clip of the Year award for their clip 'Ngarrpiya', and the G.R Bururrawanga Memorial Award for their outstanding contribution to the NT music industry.

Artist of the year went to internationally-acclaimed blind Northern Territory singer Gurrumul Yunupingu, and Gurrumul's 'Bayini' album cover also took out the NT Cover Art of the Year award.

2011 triple j Unearthed winner Thelma Plum made a return to the stage to perform a solo from her soon to be released EP, then later joined The Medics for a three song set with guest artist Bunna Lawrie.

Sunrize Band and the Lajamanu Teenage Band were inducted into the Hall of Fame, along with the late Dr James Oswald Little (aka Jimmy Little).

Country singer-songwriter Troy Cassar-Daley performed at the NIMAs and said his memory of Jimmy Little would remain strong.

"Jimmy Little's legacy will go on for a long time. We had a saying as kids 'if he can, we can'. I will miss him terribly," Cassar-Daley said.

He said the awards showcased a high level of musical talent from remote parts of Australia.

"This sort of awards really does bring out the confidence in our younger generations. I think it's a really important step for a lot of people who think maybe they're not good enough," he said.

"They've all been practising very hard in the outstations and communities they've been living in and they get to bring it all together in an event like this in Darwin."

NT School Band of the Year went to the NEAL Boys from Yirrkala, Arnhem Land, and the Traditional Music Award went to Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen, and Warren H Williams and the Warumungu Songmen from Tennant Creek. (SOURCE)

Responses to "National Indigenous Music Awards 2012"

  1. Anonymous says:

    where is the song link please? to listen... Thank you!!!

Write a comment