Watch for the full moon to group up with the planet Saturn and star Antares in the eastern sky at dusk and nightfall.

As our Earth turns underneath the heavens tonight, look for this full moon, Saturn and Antares to move westward across the nighttime sky. The celestial threesome will climb highest up tonight around midnight, and will sit low in the west at dawn June 3.

In North America, we commonly call the June full moon the Strawberry Moon.

This year’s Strawberry Moon turns precisely full on June 2, 2015 at 16:19 Universal time. Although the full moon comes at the same instant worldwide, the clock reading varies by time zone. At U.S. time zones, the moon turns precisely full at 12:19 p.m. EDT, 11:19 a.m. CDT, 10:19 a.m. MST and 9:19 a.m. PDT.

From North America, we can’t see the moon at the exact instant of full moon because it turns full during our daylight hours, when the moon is beneath the horizon and under our feet. (Source)

Native American Names for June Moon

Leaves Moon (Cree). Ripe Berries (Dakota). Hoer moon (Abernaki). Windy Moon (Choctaw). Summer moon (Kiowa). Buffalo Moon (Omaha). Leaf Moon (Assiniboine). Corn Tassel Moon(Taos). Green grass Moon(Sioux). Ripening Moon (Mohawk). Turtle Moon (Potawatomi). Making fat Moon (Lakota).Leaf Dark Moon (San Juan). Major Planting Moon (Hopi). Planting Moon (Neo Pagan). Fish Spoils Moon (Wishram). Water melon Moon (Natchez). Hot Weather moon (Arapaho). Dyad Moon (Medieval English). Strawberry Moon (Anishnaabe). Dark green leaves Moon (Pueblo). Summer Moon (Passamaquoddy). Green Corn Moon, Flower Moon (Cherokee). Mead Moon (Full Janic), Strawberry moon (Dark Janic). Honey Moon, Hot Moon, Strawberry Moon, Rose Moon (Algonquin). Other Moon names : Hay Moon, Aerra Litha Moon, Strong Sun Moon, Lovers Moon Hot weather moon (Ponca).


Responses to "Full Strawberry Moon: What You Need to Know About June's Full Moon"

Write a comment